Philip Roth: I write my way into my knowledge

Some wise words here on Philip Roth’s writing process.

Philip Roth: I write my way into knowledge “I don’t know very much,” says Philip Roth describing how he begins a novel in an recent interview with David Ulin published 10/3/10 in The LA Times. “I write my way into my knowledge,” Philip Roth says, “Then if I’m lucky, I get a break. That’s why it’s so important to get started. Because however awful starting is–and it is absolutely awful–when you get into it, when you’ve got 10 pages which may take two weeks, then you can begin to build.” “Pe … Read More

via The Write Alley

Leave a Reply

