English 1B 2/10/08 class

   

Hi there,

Yep I’m feeling worse by the minute so good thing I didn’t try to come to class…so sorry, esp for those of you who traveled to school just for class.

But now that you’re there and checking your email and the blog, take advantage of the time to do a little research into either your ad campaign project or paper #1!

Ask the reference librarian for help. I strongly encourage you to work with classmates.

When I come back, we’ll have lots of Carver stories to talk about (all as assigned so far in the syllabus except “The Bath”). See if you can find a copy of Carver’s “The Bath” (t’s in his book What We Talk ABout When We Talk About Love; I have VC’s copy checked out). Otherwise I’ll give it to you Weds 2/13 to read for next Weds. 2/20. Don’t worry about the Monsma essay for now. I will try again to get those Carver links up. If you find some you like, please forward or put them in the comment form!

Please email me your response for last Weds 2/6 and for today in the body of the email. Please bring them to class on Weds. also.

A reminder that the “ad campaign” was planned as a persuasive writing in class activity related to our theme of environment and using critical thinking. Since I’m not there, I’m encouraging you to develop:
–a specific environmental problem/s
–a specific solution
–a specific audience to convince
So not something big and vague like global warming but maybe an ad campagn to get college students to ride their bikes to campus once a week to reduce their carbon footprin or whatever. You can work alone or with classmate/s.
Please email or comment below to let me know which problem/solution you’re interested in.
Your first paper isn’t due for another month but this is a great time to think about an literary or environmental problem you want to understand better (see the green sheet I passed out Monday). If you don’t have it, I can email it to you. Let me know what your ideas are for that paper by email or by commenting on the blog and I’ll email you back ASAP.
Since I don’t have everyone’s email, please share the info. I will post a version of this on the class blog.
best, Gwendolyn

Leave a Reply

